Guide
Math facts apps compared
FastyFacts, XtraMath, Reflex, Time4MathFacts, and Monster Math on the same eight questions, from each product's own page. No ranking.
What to ask before you pick one
Every fact app says it builds fluency. The useful questions are narrower. Which operations does it cover? What happens to a fact the child gets wrong? How long is a session, and does it end on its own? Does it work in the car? Are there ads? What does it cost after the trial? Where does it run?
The table below answers those for five products, including ours. Each cell comes from that product's public page as read on October 24, 2026. Where a page did not say, the cell says so. We have not run a head to head test, and this page does not rank them.
Where FastyFacts sits
FastyFacts is the small, free, phone-first option. Multiplication from 2×2 through 12×12, with division, addition, and subtraction as review. You pick 5, 10, or 20 questions, a missed fact comes back later, and the fact rings show which table is weak. It works offline and has no ads in practice rounds. It is iOS only, and it does not teach the concept.
If you need a school license with class reporting, Reflex and XtraMath are built for that. If you want a browser program on a Chromebook, Time4MathFacts and Monster Math run there. If you want a free round on a phone in a waiting room, that is the FastyFacts case.
Monster Math is a different app
People find FastyFacts while searching for Monster Math, and the other way around, because both use a monster. They are different products from different companies. Monster Math, by its own page, is a K to 3 program that works from number sense through multiplication with visual strategies, no timers, and a yearly subscription after a trial. FastyFacts is a free iOS recall game for times tables and the other three operations. If you came here for Monster Math, the row below has what its page states, and that is where to go.
Five math facts apps on the same questions
| App | Operations | What happens to a miss | Session | Offline | Ads | Price | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FastyFacts | Multiplication 2×2 through 12×12; division, addition, and subtraction as review | Comes back later in practice; known facts drop back | 5, 10, or 20 questions | Yes | None in practice rounds | Free | iOS |
| XtraMath | Addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, and custom programs | Not stated on the page; reports show accuracy, speed, and fluency level per operation | About 10 minutes a day | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page | Free account; XtraMath Pro is paid, price not stated on the page | Browser; other platforms not stated on the page |
| Reflex | Addition, subtraction, multiplication, division; grades 2 to 6 | Adaptive with a fact family approach; the page does not describe a miss directly | Each session opens with a fluency check; no fixed length stated | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page | Subscription by quote; school site license is the common option; free trial | Not stated on the page |
| Time4MathFacts | Addition, subtraction, multiplication, division; grades 2 to 4, plus older students who need practice | Tracks which facts are not yet mastered and focuses practice there | 15 to 20 minutes, at least three days a week | Not stated on the page | Ad-free | $54.95 per student per year | Browser on PC, Mac, Chromebook, iPad, and Android tablets |
| Monster Math | Addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, and number sense; grades K to 3 | Extra practice on unmastered facts; slows down and adds visual support | About 10 to 15 minutes; no timers | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page | $59.99 per year after a 7-day trial that needs a card | Browser, iPad, iPhone, and Android |
FastyFacts cells describe the app we ship. The other rows restate each product's public page as read on October 24, 2026: home.xtramath.org, explorelearning.com, time4mathfacts.com, and monstermath.app. Prices and features change, so check the product before you quote this table.
Frequently asked questions
Which math facts app is best?
This page does not rank them. Pick by the question that matters to you: a free phone round that works offline points to FastyFacts, a school program with class reporting points to XtraMath or Reflex, and a browser program on a Chromebook points to Time4MathFacts or Monster Math.
Is FastyFacts the same as Monster Math?
No. Different companies, different products. Both use a monster. Monster Math is a K to 3 subscription program with visual strategies. FastyFacts is a free iOS recall game for times tables and the other three operations.
Can a teacher see progress in FastyFacts?
Yes. Fact tracker rings and progress reports show which times tables are solid and which still need work, down to one table such as the 8s. It is not a school program with a class roster.
Did you test these apps side by side?
No. Each row restates what that product's own page says, read on October 24, 2026. We did not run a solve-rate or retention test across them.
Built around FastyFacts in the Math facts practice hub.